Australia wins the Twenty20 World Cup by defeating New Zealand

Australia wins their first T20 World Cup after beating New Zealand by eight wickets in the final. David Warner and Mitchell Marsh hit half-centuries as Australia cruised to victory.

A wicket to Warner gave New Zealand hope, but Marsh’s bludgeoning prowess helped Australia reach their objective.

With New Zealand spooked and some superb batting on display, Australia was able to take its first short-format title with ease.

Marcus Stoinis complimented the team’s mentality and passion for taking them over the line after racing onto the field to celebrate with Glenn Maxwell, Marsh, and the rest of his teammates.

Captain Kane Williamson scores 85 runs off 48 balls for New Zealand. Josh Hazlewood takes wickets of Glenn Phillips and Daryl Mitchell to help Australia win T20 World Cup. Jimmy Neesham and Tim Seifert guide New Zealand to 172-2 in their 20 overs.

In response, Australia had a tense first over, with Finch surviving an early leg-before-wicket appeal in the first over after getting out on the first ball in the semifinal. But he didn’t last long, as Trent Boult took the wicket, his short ball being caught in the deep by Mitchell.

Australia was able to rebuild thanks to a partnership between Warner and Marsh, reaching 82-1 at the halfway point and needing 91 to win. As Australia maintained its march to win, Warner smashed an impressive 51 off just 34 balls, including a thunderous six.

Marsh reached his own half-century with his own massive six in the next over, reaching the target after 31 balls. And with Maxwell’s help — as well as some wasteful New Zealand bowling — Australia cruised to win, with Marsh leading the way with 77 not out.

Although New Zealand’s search for a T20 World Cup championship continues. It is an iconic victory for Australia, which has won various formats of cricket but has yet to win the elusive T20 World Cup.

In 2019, New Zealand and England meet in the final of the 50-over World Cup. Neither team has ever won the trophy in one of the ICC’s white-ball World Cups. The final finished in an unprecedented tie, and couldn’t be decided after a so-called Super Over.