5 footballer with the highest Golden Boots

5 footballer with the highest Golden Boots
5 footballer with the highest Golden Boots

The European Golden Boot is one of the most prestigious awards matches from the top division of every European national league that is presented each season to the leading goal scorer in the league. The trophy is a symbol of a football boot. The golden boot award began in 1967 and was originally called “Soulier d’Or”, which means Golden Shoe or Boot in French.

It has been considered using a premium in the indulgence of the highest-ranked leagues from 1997. Originally presented by L’Équipe magazine, it has been awarded by the European Sports Media since the 1996–97 season. 

Today we bring you top 5 footballers with the higher number of golden boots till now:

Football PlayerNo.Seasons
Lionel Messi62009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17, 2017/18, 2018/19
Cristiano Ronaldo42007–08, 2010–11, 2013–14 (shared), 2014–15
Eusébio21967-68, 1972-73
Gerd Müller21969-70, 1971-72
Dudu Georgescu21974-75, 1976-77
Chart of top Golden Boots winner

Lionel Messi

Lionel Andrés Messi is an Argentine professional footballer who plays as the captain of the Argentina national team. Often considered the best player in the world and widely regarded as one of the greatest players of all time, Messi has won a record six Ballon d’Or awards. He is the only player to win the award six times, all with Barcelona. Messi holds the record for goals in a single season with 50 in 2011–12, which collected a record of 100 points. Recently in Copa America tournament Messi also won golden shoes.

Cristiano Ronaldo

CRISTIANO RONALDO Cristiano Ronaldo is Juventus and Portugal footballer, formerly playing for Manchester United, Real Madrid, and Sporting Lisbon. He is considered one of the greatest in this generation, along with Lionel Messi, having won five Champions League titles and five Ballon d’Or awards. Ronaldo also won the Euro 2016 title with his country. He has made history again – becoming the first player to ever win the Golden Boot in England, Spain, and Italy. The Portuguese’s Juve side endured a difficult campaign, only coming fourth in Series A after previously winning nine Scudettos in a row. Ronaldo (2013–14 and 2014–15) and Ally McCoist (1991–92 and 1992–93) have won the award in consecutive seasons.


Eusébio da Silva Ferreira was a Portuguese footballer who played as a striker. He is known as one of the greatest footballers of all time and also S.L. Benfica’s greatest ever player. Nicknamed the Black Panther and also the Black Pearle was famous for his speed, technique, athleticism, and his ferocious right-footed shot, making him a prolific goal scorer. During his professional career, he scored 733 goals in 745 matches. Eusébio helped Portugal reach third place at the 1966 World Cup. He won two boots in his whole carrier.

Gerd Müller

Gerd Müller is a German former professional footballer. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest goal scorers in the history of the sport. In 1970Müller after a successful season at Bayern Munich, he scored ten goals at the 1970 FIFA World Cup for West Germany where he received the Golden Boot as the top goal scorer. Gerd Müller was the first player to win the award twice, in 1969–70 and 1971–72. 

Dudu Georgescu***

Dudu Georgescu was a Romanian footballer who played as a forward and a former coach. Georgescu began his professional career at Progresul București. He holds the record for the most goals in Romania’s Divizia A with 252 goals, as well as Dinamo București’s club goalscoring record, with 207. He won the European Golden Shoe (for top scorer in Europe) twice, in 1975 and 1977. During the 1970s, Georgescu was nominated three times for the Ballon d’Or.