Coronavirus Outbreak: Countries Affected So Far


The 2019 novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV), officially named as Covid-19 by the World Health Organization (WHO), has spread to 65 countries so far at an alarming rate. A total of 83,386 (including 80,134 in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Macau) people affected so far by the novel coronavirus infection. About 3,044 deaths (including 2,794 in China, 54 in Iran, 34 in Italy, 22 in South Korea, 12 in Japan, two in France and one each in the Philippines, US, Australia, Thailand, and Taiwan) have been reported across the world as of 02 March 2020. The World Health Organization (WHO) has declared the Covid-19 outbreak as a global public health emergency.

Here we will discuss about the countries of the world that have been affected so far by the virus.


  1. Asia:
    The virus was firstly originated from China which is the largest Asian country. After that, other countries including India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, japan, Qatar, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Malaysia, Thailand, Oman, Lebanon, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Iran, Kuwait, Bahrain, Iraq, United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Taiwan, Afghanistan, Israel, Egypt, Vietnam, Philippines, Cambodia also affected by the virus.


  • Europe:
    After Asia Europe is second most continent in the world that have been affected by the virus. People of Czech Republic, Ireland, Luxembourg, Monaco, Iceland, United Kingdom, Switzerland, Greece, Belarus, Lithuania, Italy, Germany, France, Netherlands, San Marino, Estonia, Denmark, Spain, Austria, North Macedonia, Georgia, Romania, Norway, Croatia, Belgium, Russia, Sweden, Finland have been affected by the Covid-19


  • North America:
    Dominican Republic, Mexico, United States, Canada are the countries that are in danger by the virus. The US has reported 85 confirmed cases of the coronavirus infection and one death till date.


  • South America:
    Ecuador, Brazil is the virus detected countries in South America where in Brazil Two confirmed-coronavirus cases have been reported. The country reported its first coronavirus infection case on 26 February in Sao Paolo, in a man who returned from Italy.


  • Oceania:
    New Zealand is the only country in Oceania that have been affected by Covid-19 virus.


  • Australia:
    Australia is also the only country in Australia continent that have been affected by Covid-19 virus.


  • Africa:
    Nigeria, Algeria are the virus detected countries In Africa.

Covid-19 currently has no cure but researchers in China and pharmaceutical companies including Abbvie, Inovio, and Gilead Sciences are working on developing treatments.

> Dipto Paul

The new issue of WhatsOn is out now. Subscribe here to get your copy.

WhatsOn Calling…
If you like WhatsOn, why not do us a favour. More & more people getting involved and supporting WhatsOn. We are independent & progressive, unlike many corporate media - We know you want WhatsOn to benefit as many people as possible Now we need your support, WhatsOn will continue to engage with cutting edge events, news & reviews of our times and hold power to account & champion social justice. WhatsOn’s independence means, we are free from corporate & commercial bias. However, we need your support to give a voice to the voice less and keep our independence. We rely on the support of our readers and any amount , big or small, makes a valuable difference. Thank you. SUPPORT WhatsOn!

Leave a Reply