WhatsOn > Music > Albums > Ben Haenow Returns with New Album ‘Alive’

Ben Haenow Returns with New Album ‘Alive’

Ben Haenow has been beavering away working on his second studio album, and with the upcoming release of ‘Alive’, it is clear to see that his hard work is paying off.

The accomplished singer-songwriter, who found fame on popular TV talent show The X Factor and came out on top as the winner, has recently revealed that his new album will be released on 25 May.

The offering addresses the key themes of love and aspiration, and has been regarded as Ben’s ‘most authentic body of work to date’.

It is set to be very soulful and emotional, and it contains two covers (‘Ain’t No Sunshine’ by Bill Withers and ‘Always On My Mind’ by Elvis Presley) – the rest have been written in their entirety by Ben and his brother Alex Haenow. The record will include all four of Ben’s independently released singles: ‘Alive’, ‘Forgive & Forget’, ‘Rising’ and ‘Falling Down’.

Ben Haenow commented about the release of ‘Alive’: “I’m sooo buzzing for people to finally hear the new album and songs! This album definitely feels more honest in style and lyrical content compared to the first album. In some respects, with some of the tracks, it is a bit more autobiographical and a chance to tell a little more of my story with all that’s happened the last three years.

“It’s special to me as all the tracks were written by me and my brother which I’m very proud of! There are a few tracks which might surprise people too; be that a good or bad thing lol. We have experimented a little style-wise with a few tracks but the reaction to the new stuff when we played a few at live shows has been great. I really hope everyone likes the album, it’s my first independent release so a little scary but also very exciting!”

Since its release, the title track ‘Alive’ has accumulated over one million streams on Spotify and this figure is steadily rising. The record is now available to pre-order worldwide.

> Hannah Montgomery

Leave a Reply