WhatsOn > Books > Baileys Women’s Prize For Fiction Winner Announced

Baileys Women’s Prize For Fiction Winner Announced

The Baileys women’s prize for fiction winner has finally been announced – the winner is none other than Naomi Alderman’s thought provoking thriller “The Power”.

At an awards ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London – hosted by novelist and Prize Co-Founder, Kate Mosse – the 2017 Chair of Judges, Tessa Ross presented the author with the £30,000 prize and the ‘Bessie’, a limited edition bronze figurine. Both are anonymously endowed.

Tessa Ross, 2017 Chair of Judges, said: “The judges and I were thrilled to make this decision. We debated this wonderful shortlist for many hours but kept returning to Naomi Alderman’s brilliantly imagined dystopia – her big ideas and her fantastic imagination.”

Alderman’s literary talent was displayed early on in her writing career when her debut novel, “Disobedience”, won the Orange Award for New Writers – an award that was set up to recognise emerging talent and the evidence of future potential, as has clearly been further displayed by Alderman’s fourth novel.

To win a copy of “The Power”, keep your eyes peeled on the @BaileysPrize twitter and instagram!



What if the power to hurt were in women’s hands?

Suddenly – tomorrow or the day after – teenage girls find that with a flick of their fingers, they can inflict agonizing pain and even death. With this single twist, the four lives at the heart of Naomi Alderman’s extraordinary, visceral novel are utterly transformed.


> Leah Davies

Leave a Reply